License to Carry (Previously known as CHL)
DCSA has offered TX CHL (Concealed Handgun License) courses since the licenses went into effect on January 1 of 1996, with continuous focus on quality over quantity. With changes in the law that add the option for Open Carry beginning January 1, 2016, Texas DPS has changed the terminology to License to Carry, or LTC for short.
Our LTC course includes:
- DCSA 1-hour safety orientation (the first step towards our private indoor gun range membership)
- Minimum 4 to Maximum 6 Hour "Classroom" Training and 25-question written test
- Eye & Ear Protection, Target and Administering of 50-round "demonstration of proficiency"
- Written class handout including the most salient sections of DPS' CHL lesson plan guidelines and CHL16 laws booklet
- "Certificate of Training" (Form CHL-100) upon completion
STEP 1: Make sure you are eligible for a Concealed Handgun License
To be eligible for a Texas License to Carry you:
- Must be a legal resident of Texas, or apply for a non-resident license
- Must be at least 21, unless active duty or honorable discharged from the military, then at least 18
- Must not ever have been convicted of a FELONY
- Must not be currently charged with a Class A or Class B MISDEMEANOR or FELONY
- Must not be chemically dependent, including alcohol
- Must be capable of exercising sound judgment
- Must not have been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor, or a disorderly conduct in the past 5 years
- Must be fully qualified under federal and state laws to purchase a handgun (any domestic violence conviction can be major problem)
- Must not be delinquent in child support payment or property taxes.
- Must not be restricted by a protective or restraining order involving a person
- Must not have been prosecuted for a felony grade juvenile delinquent conduct in the previous 10 years
STEP 2: Determine your experience level ***
- Experienced Shooter: Min. 4 1/2 hour classroom segment for experienced pistol people (and only for experienced people) prepared to step up to the line and shoot the pass/fail 50-round qualifier shortly after classroom segment. (Max of 20 to 30 minutes in the range, no assists, no warm-up.) $79.88
- Intermediate HANDGUN Shooter: Minimum 4 1/2 hour classroom segment plus a 60 minute range session for practice with up to 50 rounds and testing with the next 50 rounds. Often a good option for moderate experience students with a new or untested gun or a rental. Assistance/coaching as needed during the first 50 rounds plus B-27 targets identical to those used on the subsequent "demonstration of proficiency" (shooting test). $129.88
- Inexperienced REVOLVER Shooter: Minimum 4 1/2 hour classroom segment plus a 90 minute individualized classroom/range session for coaching and practice with up to 50 rounds and testing with the next 50 rounds. Experience has shown that about 90 minutes and 100 rounds of ammo is needed to get the average new shooter comfortable and competent with a REVOLVER and to pass the "demonstration of proficiency" (shooting test). The first 30 minutes is typically spent in the classroom staging area with the "hands on" (stance, grip, etc.) segment only of our more comprehensive Handguns 101 class, then the next 60 minutes in the range. $159.88.
- Inexperienced SEMI-AUTOMATIC Shooter: Minimum 4 1/2 hour classroom segment plus a 120 minute individualized classroom/range session for coaching and practice with up to 50 rounds and testing with the next 50 rounds. Experience has shown that about 120 minutes and 100 rounds of ammo is needed to get the average new shooter comfortable and competent with a SEMI-AUTOMATIC and to pass the "demonstration of proficiency" (shooting test). The first 30 minutes is typically spent in the classroom staging area with the "hands on" (stance, grip, etc.) segment only of our more comprehensive Handguns 101 class, then the next 90 minutes in the range. $179.88.
On most class dates, Level 1 shooters can typically be completed (based upon sequence of pre-registrations) within the first hour after conclusion of the classroom segment. On weekend class dates, Levels 2, 3, and 4 shooters typically get at least a 1-hour break and come back for their shooting session on the same day (or optionally, on a subsequent day). On weekday evening classes, the timing is such that Levels 2, 3 and 4 shooters are given the opportunity to schedule their shooting segment at a mutually convenient time on a subsequent day. See FAQ page for details on procedures and target scoring.
Rental handguns and pricing, if needed with Levels 2, 3 and 4, are described in the text of "Handguns 101" on the "Other Courses" page.
We also offer a Shooting Only LTC class. It is meant for those that have taken a LTC class elsewhere, passed the written test, but for one reason or another did not pass the shooting test: commonly caused by stressed-out novice shooters being mixed in with experienced shooters on a loud firing line. See our "Other Courses" page for details.
*** Many inexperienced shooters choose to take our Handguns 101 class (described on "Other Courses" page) prior to taking the LTC class - and get a $31.88 discount on the subsequently applicable level (1 or 2) of LTC Class. And, having completed the Orientation, arrive 1 hour late for LTC class. ***
STEP 3: Read this general information
- The classroom portion of the course comes first and lasts at least 4.5 hours, often closer to 5. Then there is a short test over what you learned in class.
- The shooting portion of the course is after the classroom portion and is on a first come, first serve basis. Those who registered for the course first (and are experienced shooters) get to shoot shortly following the classroom portion of the course. (With experienced shooters, we can typically qualify 4 to 6 students in the hour immediately following the classroom segment.) Inexperienced shooters often shoot last or come back at a later time/date to allow adequate time for practicing and coaching. Unlike many others, we do not knowingly mix experienced and inexperienced shooters on the firing line.
- No more than two shooters are on the firing line at once.
- If you bring your own firearm and ammo, please leave them locked in your vehicle until instructed to go get them.
- Handguns used for the "proficiency demonstration" can be a revolver or semi-automatic, but must be .32 caliber or greater
- Leave firearm unloaded until instructed to load it. Do not bring pre-loaded magazines.
- Do not bring reloaded ammo. Do not bring a new or untested pistol if selecting the $79.88 option.
- Do not wear sandals, flip flops or open clothing (halter tops, etc.) for shooting segment.
- Shirts with a button up collar and baseball (gimme) hats are recommended
- DCSA has several handguns available for rent. Most common are 9mm semi-automatic handguns (Glock, Kahr, Springfield, Smith & Wesson, and Ruger) and .38 revolvers (Smith & Wesson, Taurus, and Ruger). Students not shooting immediately after class and wishing to rent get a brief tutorial on each gun and then choose one.
- Experienced shooters can rent a 9mm handgun (with 50 rounds included) for $30 . ($35 for Ruger SP-101 .38 revolver, payable with cash at class).
- Intermediate and Inexperienced shooters can rent a 9mm handgun (with 100 rounds included) for $60. ($70 for .38 Revolver, payable with cash)
- Two other rental handguns are an option for older or especially recoil-sensitive shooters. One is a German made revolver in .32 caliber (the minimum caliber currently allowed for the license class shooting test). The other is a Walther PK380. The slide on it is much easier to manipulate than most semi autos and its size helps to dissipate the recoil. Unfortunately, the ammunition for both of these (especially the .32) is significantly more expensive, so anyone with potential need to try one or both should bring as much as $100 cash more than that stated for Levels 3 and 4 above.
- Military veterans can bring copy of DD-214 to class for a $10 refund (or credit on Freedom Plan).
- Local school district employees can present faculty ID for a $10 refund (or credit on Freedom Plan).
- College Students or Staff can present campus ID for a $10 refund (or credit on Freedom Plan)
STEP 4: Sign up for a class
If you have taken another class from DCSA in the previous 12 months, before signing up, inform Lonnie at email@example.com as to the class and date in order to receive the promotional code for $31.88 discount. Private classes are available (generally at greater pricing unless at least 4 students).
The EVENTBRITE software will stop accepting registrations when any specific class date is full. You should receive a confirmation email promptly.
If you register for one of the first six 20-30 minute range session slots, you should be prepared to shoot within the first hour after the classroom session is concluded. If you register for one of the 60 to 120 minute sessions, you will subsequently be contacted by instructor to coordinate your shooting slot time and range reservation, possibly later on the same day or on a separate day of mutual convenience.
Please be sure to read all of Step 2 above before selecting an option below.
STEP 5: Show up for class at DCSA
Eye and ear protection are available at no extra charge if students do not have their own. If planning to shoot a semi-automatic pistol, no sandals, halter tops or other clothing that can readily catch hot brass. A baseball cap and long sleeve shirt (using the very top button) are recommended.
Please be on time or early. We are located at 409 Copper Canyon Road, Argyle, TX 76226
This is near Argyle, Lantana, Flower Mound, Highland Village, Lewisville, Grapevine, Corinth, Bartonville, Roanoke, and Denton. See Google Maps for directions.
STEP 6: Apply for the license via DPS' web site, get your fingerprinting done, and send the Certificate of Training to DPS.
After the course completion, students have up to 2 years to submit the Certificate of Completion (CHL-100) to DPS.
To complete as much as possible of the procedure with DPS online (either before or after class), follow the instructions given at http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/rsd/chl/index.htm
Those using this option (and paying with a credit card) will have up to 1 year to get all of the required items (on checklist that is printed from DPS' web site) submitted to DPS - or will have to pay the license fee again.
As of March 1, 2011, for fingerprinting, "original license" applicants must use http://www.l1enrollment.com/state/?st=tx . You will need to first get the application completed via the DPS site link in the paragraph above. Once your information is in the system, you should to be able to go into the link in this paragraph to schedule an appointment for their electronic fingerprinting (and their subsequent electronic submission to DPS).
A potentially helpful video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K8aMm-I3I34&feature=youtu.be
STEP 7: Wait up to 60 days (plus mailing time)
STEP 8: Receive your License to Carry !!!
STEP 9: Keep practicing, renew your LTC and take a voluntary refresher course
See the Membership page to see about getting a "Freedom Plan" to gain 24/7 access to the DCSA private range. Practice on your own in a safe environment to stay tuned up! If you don't think you will be able to shoot often enough to justify purchasing a "Freedom Plan", former students can contact Lonnie at firstname.lastname@example.org to schedule a "Shooting Skills Tuneup". These are 1-hour scheduled appointments where you can shoot and receive coaching. They cost $60 on weekdays and $80 on weekends.
Renew your License
The original license must be renewed after 4 years. Further renewals must be done every 5 years. This is done at http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/rsd/chl/index.htm
Take a refresher course
Though renewal courses are no longer required by law, many CHL/LTC holders choose to attend a "voluntary refresher" at least every 2 years to keep up with changes in the law, reinforce what they learned in their original course, and shoot 50 rounds. Contact Lonnie at email@example.com for details.